Tips | Feel the Love With Love Languages

We understand there are times when your partner, spouse, or baby’s father may not know how to be supportive. A helpful way to relieve any tension that may be resulting is to learn your significant other’s love language, as well as learn and understand your own. Here is a quiz to take on the Five Love Languages.

If you want to learn more and have a better understanding of each language, below we have the love languages listed, along with an example.

Words of Affirmation
Verbal compliments or words of appreciation and encouragement are powerful communicators of love. Set a goal to give your spouse a different compliment each day for a month.

Quality Time
Nothing says “I love you” like full, undivided attention. Distractions, postponed dates, or failure to listen can be especially hurtful. Ask your partner for a list of five activities that he/she’d enjoy doing with you, and make plans to do one of them each month for the next five months.

Don’t mistake this love language for materialism; the recipient of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. Keep a “gift idea” notebook; every time you hear your spouse say, “I really like that,” write it down.

Acts of Service
Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes. The words he/she most wants to hear are “Let me do that for you.”

Physical Touch
Physical presence and accessibility are crucial, while neglect or abuse can be unforgivable and destructive. While eating together, let your knee or foot gently drift over and touch your partner.